• Welcome to Andy's Workshop Forums. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 09:44:32 am

News:

SMF - Just Installed!

GPIO Daughter Board Design

Started by stride, November 15, 2016, 06:08:44 am

Previous topic - Next topic

stride

November 15, 2016, 06:08:44 am Last Edit: November 15, 2016, 06:11:25 am by stride
Hello guys,

I'm a hobbyist mostly into software engineering, in addition into doing stuff on my DE2-115 Cyclone IV FPGA development board.
Unfortunately I have only rudimentary skills on electronics and analogous systems...

Anyhow, I recently made a wirespeed Ethernet packet sniffer on my development board, all pure logic - no CPU, big fun. I want to extend on that.

To learn a bit in the electronics area my goal now is to make a GPIO connected Daughter Board for the dev-kit, with a couple of Ethernet PHY's on it.

I've collected some information and installed TinyCAD for initial schematics.

GPIO header details from the DE2 manual: https://1drv.ms/i/s!AgV35ZnXdrAGghgrNiEJro6ZHbDj

The PHY chip I want to use: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/00002117C.pdf

Some manufacturer notes regarding power: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/AppNotes/ANLAN206.pdf
(I've opted for a solution as in Figure 11)

And finally, my initial schematics for power rails!  :) https://1drv.ms/i/s!AgV35ZnXdrAGghck96jI1YGuXq2z
(Please forgive my newbie mistakes)

I have a couple of questions that I would really appreciate help with:
- Since I'm not using the internal LDO, can I drop connecting it?
- Do I still need capacitors close to the power pins on the PHY chip? (As in Figure 7 from the app notes)
- What is the recommended way to wire up the DVDDH 3.3V?

With best Regards,

/stride

Andy Brown

Quote from: stride on November 15, 2016, 06:08:44 amAnyhow, I recently made a wirespeed Ethernet packet sniffer on my development board, all pure logic - no CPU, big fun. I want to extend on that.