• Welcome to Andy's Workshop Forums. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 03:20:58 pm

News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Eagle and Kicad

Started by Phil, May 04, 2016, 07:13:37 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Phil

Hi

I saw that you make quite a lot of PCBs using Eagle and I wondered if you have also used Kicad and what you think about the two? I've never designed a PCB before and looking to do my first one and having looked at both, I find the UI horrible on both and quite unintuitive, but I guess I need to get used to them!

Phil

Andy Brown

I've been an Altium Designer user for many years and a few years ago I did try Eagle because it's free and it would have been good if people could directly use the designs that I create. Unfortunately I hated Eagle and went back to AD. Maybe I'll try KiCad one day but to be honest AD is so good and I know it so well that it would be difficult. Maybe the free online Altium Circuit Maker would be a better option. If you can live with the 'online' part then you do seem to get all the good bits of AD.
It's worse than that, it's physics Jim!

JohnBurton

I find that ALL PCB board software I've tried has difficult to learn and infuriating user interfaces, the only thing you get to choose it which set of boneheaded decisions you have to live with :P

I want to to make a PCB for my reflow oven controller so I've been looking at various bits of software.
I tried Eagle free version. I couldn't get on with it. Nothing seemed to work as I'd expect and I really just found it hard to use and gave up eventually. I was also concerned for future use about the board size limitations on the free version, and the cheap pay versions didn't seem to resolve that for me.